The big day! The wedding day + marriage

Emotions running high, all these years of waiting and the day has finally come! It’s been so hard to get to this point, so many challenges and so many temptations. I could have thrown it all away, I could have stopped waiting, but I refused to quit. Let me just put on this bow tie, I take a deep breath and look in the mirrow. ‘God’, I say to the man in the mirrow, ‘thank you for making me who I am today!’ Tears roll down both of my cheeks, tears of joy and gratefulness. It’s been such a long journey filled with valleys and mountain tops, but this is certainly the highest point so far! ‘Oh I don’t deserve this beautiful woman you have given me!’ This thought passed through my mind, I look up with an expectant response from God. The Lord just smiled at me and said, ‘no one deserves anything good, but it brings joy to my heart to give good gifts to the children of my Father’.

My confidence rose as these words empowered me. I wana dance and sing, so i did, why shouldn’t I express myself this way? I started thinking of the bride, ‘I wonder if she is as excited as me?’ I thought to myself. I know how much she loves me and I her, there’s no reason for doubt. We know we are meant to be, after all it was God who brought us together, and what he joins no man can seperate.
‘Oh my, its time to go’, butterflies turned in my stomache, it’s time.

The congregation wait in expectancy for the bride. I’m already standing becoming more nervous as time passes by. ‘This is it’, I thought to myself, ‘the big moment is here!’. I smiled and then it happened. The music played, and in walked the beautiful woman I fell in love with. Wrapped up in purity and shining like the sun as she elegantly walked down the aisle. The crowd gazed upon her, every eye fixed upon this magnificent beauty that God created. She looked towards me in her approach, I secretly pinched myself to check that this was real. My best man looked over and smiled, ‘oh its real’ he thought. It was almost asif I heard him out loud, yep that’s why he’s my best man.
‘She’s looking at me, oh its like falling in love over again! shh, get a grip and focus. She’s going to be my wife, wow she’s stunning!’ A full on conversation was going through my mind. ‘Wow look at his eyes, so beautiful, oh thank you God!’ She said without moving her lips, the eyes say it all. We have come to this point where we don’t need to say words to comunicate, sometimes just the way we look at each other speaks more than words could say. The vicar approached us with a booming proud of this moment face and a bible in his hand. He looked at us both with a smile, then turned to the crowd of people and spoke. ‘We are gathered here today’, he said with such confidence and joy, ‘to celebrate the wonderful gift of marriage, and the joining of…’

Marriage is a wonderful gift that God has given to the human race. The gift of man and woman joining together was illistrated in the first book of the bible and has continued ever since. This wonderful picture described above is only the day itself, marriage is not just a day, its the rest of our God given lives. We prepare for the wedding day, we want it all to be perfect. The bride wants the beautiful dress, the best man wants to organise the best bachelor party possible, the groom wants everything to run smoothly. Yet this is just for the day, marriage itself is a lifetime.
It takes faith to commit to marriage; faith that you can make it work no matter what obstacles are ahead, faith that you will grow together in love and harmony, faith that God will help. It is exciting, it is an adventure and for those called to be married it is worth pursuing. Honor God, honor your wife and husband and God will honor you. Praise God for this beautiful gift!

DMZ

Leave a Reply

